The right to write

s58radikalrui1590904bea507a10fd9cdjpgfantasy2athinacreativefantasywomenfavesdreamswomenstunningFantasyLadyAngelsFantasyChrissy_large

When I was five there was no way I was going to go to school. Why? Because I couldn’t read.  Based on this philosophy it would stand to reason that I would study English at University, or attend an intensive writing course,  before I attempted to write a book.

But: And they say ignore everything in front of the but, because what you’re really wanting to say is coming next and the information before was just a sneaky way to distract you.

But: I didn’t know I wanted to be a writer until I’d read almost 700 books in 2 years. I was driving in the car along the highway when I turned to my kids ( my head was rotated just a fraction actually – my eyes glued on the road ahead) and said, “I’m going to write a book for you.” And it hit me ( the idea, not a car – my eyes were glued on the road remember) that I wanted nothing more than to do this. I get teary thinking about it now. They still look at me and shrug when I talk about how they inspired the characters ( and I stop talking about it –  because I get teary) but I know where they, and everyone else I love, fit into my creations.

So like a choose-your-own adventure book I had some options: go back to Uni and learn to write, or start writing this book and see where it takes me. If I knew the destination was insanity land I may have reconsidered option one.

But: If I don’t succeed you can bet I’ll be flipping back the pages and choosing option one, or tearing out the pages, or attacking it with a Sharpie to make my own ending.

Does that mean I should feel unwelcome in the aspiring authors club? I guess some will see it that way; I can’t change their minds. Even I tell myself twelve times a day (and thirteen times on Sundays) that I haven’t earned the right to write.  I also tell myself every day to be more patient, twice as often, and that has no impact on my behaviour. So, for the sake of consistency, I trudge on.

This first post was meant to be about changing my perspective as I adapt from a reader to a writer. It’s coming. It’s next. *growls at next blog* ” You’re next, alright! Now hush.”

But: I felt I had to get this out first. Just like, I have this great character that I want to introduce to my series, but he just has to wait. It isn’t his time. Knowing how unhinged he is, I’m not looking forward to his reaction from being caged for over a year.  This poor guy is going to have a rough run. ( see – ‘Love V’ in my next post for reasons why)  My life isn’t easy, buddy, and neither will yours be.

So I’ll worry every day that I don’t deserve the same opportunities as those that chose option one above.

But: This is the path I have chosen and looking frantically over my shoulder and wondering if I should have chosen option one will  increase the likelihood of me destroying my self esteem or walking into a pole. Both outcomes are painful;  so although I may  rotate my head back just a fraction, I will keep my eyes glued on the road ahead.

 

 

42 thoughts on “The right to write

  1. School of life is the only qually you need, Lorelle. Everything else you’ll learn on the way. It’s strange, isn’t it, how we newbies feel like imposters. But I read a quote by Stephen King (I think) who said: ‘The only things that you need to be a writer is to read a lot and write a lot.’ So every day when you get up, tell yourself you are a writer. If you tell yourself often enough one day you’ll believe it. And mega congrats for taking the plunge with your blog!

  2. Thanks Emma 🙂 Took me hours even to get something basic together. But its done now and I can improve it as I go along 🙂 We’ll get there with our books 🙂

  3. You absolutely will, Lorelle. Every day I post, it gets easier and I get better at it (I hope!). Anything I can do to help, just holler 👄

  4. Hmm. Always suspicious of people who follow me without commenting on a single thing I’ve written. I don’t like people who “fish”. You don’t seem to be selling anything or trying to teach me how to write, so I’ll let you slide this time. I’m not usually this unfriendly, but getting pretty tired of it.
    Good luck with your blog.

  5. I’m not a gambler but my money is on you! If the above was a preview of what is in store, I think all who follow or even stop by will enjoy the journey!

    Bon courage et bonne chance! Léa

    Thank you for choosing to follow one of my blogs. I hope you will continue to enjoy the posts.

  6. I enjoyed reading this blog and the process of becoming a writer, reading is indeed important, but as far as writing? Just write and write, whatever comes to mind, because at some point, even if its just a jotted note/memo, it will come in handy, thanks for sharing!

  7. I read somewhere…not entirely sure where…that someone said, writing is easy, anybody can do it. Writing well is a lot harder. I think you’re on the right track. Just keep at it and you’ll learn as you go. That’s what I’ve been doing. Good luck!

  8. Thanks for visiting and following my blog.

    Steven King says to practice writing daily (1,000 words) and read often. I like to do both but, find it difficult to fit in my “daily” schedule. So, I do what I can when I can.

    Even though I have a Bachelors, blogging has helped me to improve my skills a great deal. Practice, Practice makes one a better writer. Best Wishes to you!

  9. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!
    I am quite like you. I love writing so much that I wanna be a professional writer and I ever planned to take Literature as my major in university. But situation didnt support me and finally I chose another major. But that fact doesnt kill my dream.And I still keep writing, fiction or nonfiction ones, to prepare myself one day to be a impactful writer lol.
    So yeah even though we may not take an English or Literature study, we still have a very big opportunity to write a good story at our best ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

