Self-Promoting Author – Oxymoron?

funny-cat-pic-9

Hi *meek smile* *shy wave* You may not have noticed  but I’ve actually been here for a while. I kind of clung to the shadows and made sure I wasn’t making eye contact.  Oh, you were talking to my self-promoting self? She came in earlier wearing fluorescent Lycra, banging a big bass drum, blowing a whistle and generally pretending she was something she is not.

This won’t be a long post. It just hit me the other day that to me,  self promotion as an introvert, sorry, an unpublished introvert with no readers, makes the term ” self-promoting author” an oxymoron. *whispers to self* poxy moron.

I honestly feel like a used car salesmen. The only good thing in this instance is that the book has low mileage so it should sell well…

Look at me, Miss Pessimism…..No! Don’t look at me! Look at that author over there who’s bathing in promotion particles. If you squint really hard you can see them tentatively stick their head out only to whip it back under  sharpish.

When this baby gets out on the road though, you can bet I’ll be installing a lap dancing pole  and swinging from it like nobodies business. And if I don’t come to terms with promoting myself, nobodies business may be where it’s going to end up.

15 thoughts on “Self-Promoting Author – Oxymoron?

  1. Reblogged this on Sasha Cameron's Tribute and commented:
    Feeling this pain. As I watch my peers get themselves out there, pressing the social media flesh. Here I sits going ‘like me’ …’please like me’. Of course, there is still that pesky little issue of ‘finish the darn book’ to contend with.

    • I was always told to finish the book first. So you do, and then you look around at everything that needs to be done and you wish you could just go back and finish the book again lol It’s just not in my nature to promote myself. Its a tough gig but I want to prove that I’m willing to work hard at it. Thanks for the reblog! It’s my first 🙂

  2. I so get what your saying. It took me A LOT of courage to get my first one out there, a little less for the second. Now that it has been a few months since the last one, the next is getting hard again. my inner voice says, “Yeah, like anyone is ever gonna read that!” UGH. Thanks for posting this!

    • It’s all a bit – “Has the world gone mad?” to me. To be promoting something you haven’t finished or had published. Such is social media I guess. Weird :S

  3. I kind of like how you’re not WHAM BAM in your face about it as some other authors do. They are in your face and actually tend to annoy and turn off readers, rather than garner our interest. I find what actually works is building a relationship with your readers and the rest will come.

  4. “If you want something done right you have to do it yourself.”

    How often have you heard/said that? I’ve probably heard it more than said it but my wife and family might disagree. 😉 My point is: this is the world we, as self-published authors, inhabit. The traditionally-published authors live in the same world they just have some resources – and LIMITS – that we do not.

    PROMOTE YOURSELF! Who better to do it? Who knows your work better than you? I’ve been a _writer_ since junior high but I’ve been an _author_ since I clicked that button on my KDP author page

    When I worked as a teacher I always promoted my college. I was passionate about it because I believed in it! Even when enrollment was down or administration did something extra idiotic, or even when scandals rocked the hallowed halls of higher education.

    Now that I’m a self-employed, self-published author waiting for my books to take off why the [profanity] should I be one milligram less passionate about my product?

    But enough about me. SO SHOULD YOU BE!!! You are your absolute best asset when it comes to introducing the world to yourself and your work. USE IT! FLAUNT IT!! MAKE it HAPPEN for yourself!!

    I’ll close with a pair of quotes. One from Mr. Myagi in the (original) Karate Kid move, the other from Yoda.

    “oh. Daniel-san. Walk down right side of road, safe. Walk down left side, safe. But walk down middle of road… Squished! Like grape.”
    -Mr. Myagi

    “NO! DO or do NOT. There is no try.”
    -Yoda

    When you build that lapdance pole make sure it has flashing neon lights and Dolby 5.1!

    -matt

    • See, I feel like you know me Matt because your appealing to my controlling nature…I guess I’ve always found it tough to talk about myself and what I’m excited about. I have a feeling it will get easier. Good luck with your book and thank you for your positivity..and for mentioning my lapdance pole haha

Leave a Reply

