I missed middle child day? Here is my contribution…

 

 

 

Here is a little Mae and Violet action after Mae’s first ‘episode’.

 

The car is an incubator. This little chick in the passenger seat is ready to hatch and escape the unbearable, boiling temperature.

Violet senses my discomfort and jumps onto the obvious problem. “Of course, I’ll put the air conditioning on arctic level. I’ll just get these windows down and let all the hot air out first.”

I glare at her like she just ate my firstborn.

“Or we could just travel straight to the Antarctic.” She starts the car and turns up the air conditioning, looking at me intently. “So, are you ready to talk about this?”

I glare at her like she just ate my newborn baby for dessert.

“That’s okay. I’ll just enjoy the quiet,” she says, pulling out of the car park.

I look over at her, calmer and forgiving, like she just ate my middle child.

6 thoughts on “I missed middle child day? Here is my contribution…

  1. I only have one sibling, and I’m the oldest, so I know nothing about being a middle child. I didn’t realize that they get their own special ‘day,’ Thanks for sharing this cute excerpt, and the baby chicks made me go aaww. Happy Friday!

    • It’s weird how the stereotype holds true sometimes – but maybe its because we are looking out for those characteristics and missing the others…idk its fun anyway lol. My daughter has middle child written all over her – we didn’t have any more so I’ll just call it “second child’ syndrome.

Leave a Reply

