Writing is like dieting

Writing and dieting have an interesting relationship. I thought starving writers were motivated to write more, but the opposite is true for me. If I didn’t have a fridge to go to every time I’m stuck on a word, it would be become too expensive: I’d have  to replace all the keyboards I would smash.  I’m trying to do both at the moment and falling flat so I thought I’d make some observations about my experience.

Some similarities:

1) If you make realistic long-term goals, you are more likely to achieve them.

2) If you have a bad day and don’t meet your daily goal, start the next day as though yesterday never happened. Don’t try to make up for what you didn’t do the day before.

3) Quality exceeds quantity – a satisfying, tasty meal will stick with you longer than loads of small tasteless meals. The same can be said for word count and content.

4) You are more likely to achieve your goals if you surround yourself with people who have the same goals.

5) If you go too hard for too long, you will burn out.

6) Exercise will help immensely.

7) If you don’t achieve either goal, it is really difficult to stop yourself from going to the fridge……

 

Although they may be similar, it can be detrimental to strive for both at the same time.

1) The more you do of one, the less you want to do of the other.

2) If you are like me and you drink more alcohol when you diet, then you are now drinking three times as much now that you write and diet.

3) The hungrier you are, the crankier you are – so the it’s less likely you feel in the mood to write.

4) You will become more obstinate when you feel compelled to follow two regimes.

 

Do you have any issues with overeating or eating less when you write?

 

 

6 thoughts on “Writing is like dieting

  1. Not being a writer or a dieter, I can’t really relate to this post, but it is interested how similar the two are. I never really thought about it until now. Switch to beer instead of high calories girlie drinks, and you’ll be fine! 😉

    • I do think about that: that if times were tougher, I would be more motivated. I know that when my husband was struggling at work – and because we are both highly-stressed people – it would have been difficult to write and add pressure to the family with my neurotic personality :S It’s funny, the harder I work now, the harder he works. We are pushing each other 🙂

  2. I am overweight. I write. To date I’ve found no correlation between the two. Any time my writing is going slow I just get up and wander around inside (or outside) the house. My wife is usually watching a movie when I’m writing so I can feast my brain on that, though some of it is mental junk food. Similarly when I’m hungry I just eat something and go on about my business.

    I must admit, though, the writing/diet observations are quite witty and well-stated! Perhaps I’m the exception. In that vein, then, I shall attempt to find some equally edifying tidbits from my own plate.

    Similarities:
    – If you try the latest fad from California you’ll probably regret it.
    – 14 days of tuna and dry toast won’t accomplish anything.
    – Too much beer will cancel all efforts to date.

    Differences
    – Paper, even written-on, contains lots of fiber but trying to type on a ham or piece of lettuce doesn’t work well at all.
    – Honey mustard and keyboards are not compatible.
    – Thinking about writing while you eat is just as futile as thinking about your last meal while your characters’ fates hang in the balance.

    Best I could do.

    -matt

  3. hehe 😛 I’m in a bit of a writing slump, and it’s making the diet quite difficult. I come from a family where we eat even when we are not hungry….
    They are mainly similar to me because to achieve my goals in both, I have to follow a similar edict.

Leave a Reply

