I’m going to handle these rejections like I’m 18 and drunk

I know what you’re thinking. I’m going to get drunk to deal with these submission rejections, get dressed up in tarty clothes and try and pick up. You’d be wrong. I’m already drunk… But seriously, I’m not. This is about me then, not me now.

Don’t worry, husband. You have nothing to worry about. I can’t fit into those clothes anymore, so you are safe. But Dad, Daddy, Papa Bear….you might want to look away.

I wanted to write about the correlation between positive thinking, unrealistic expectations and being deluded. I was even going to set up a game! And although I love games – so much so I used to play board games on my own when I was younger ie 38 – it just didn’t feel right. And I’m sick of being all broody and deep. I’ll leave that to the super-intense, emotional male love interest who shows just how deep and sensitive he is by showcasing his piano-playing prowess. Now if he could do the same with a piano accordion,Β  I would be really impressed.

What did I do when I threw myself at someone at a bar and they rejected me when I was younger? I put on those same heels, but on a bit of slap – or a lot of slap depending on the lighting offered – and threw myself at those same people again. Yep, the same people again. Ah, good times. You hear of people taking over ten years to get published – pretty resilient people with iron-guts determination. That’s 18 year old, drinking me.

So, what is my drug of choice now?Β  What will get me back in the publishing ring time after time? They are bouncing behind me right now, and my goodness do they make me want to drink πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “I’m going to handle these rejections like I’m 18 and drunk

  1. Hilarioius. Just keep on keeping on, Girl. Don’t let rejections drive you to drink, they’re part of this game. And if you’re not getting those rejections, then you’re not querying. Which is not playing the game. And, ya know, agents reject 99.9% of the time. On the other hand, you just need one. Keep going until you find it.

  2. Being an Aussie, I have less agents to pitch to, but I am going to investigate every single option. I can’t use that as an excuse, though. It just means I have to do some more research :S I’m glad you liked the post πŸ™‚

    • I allowed myself half a day to feel sorry for myself, and the other half, I spent researching agents and finding out as much info as i could! I have so much more I can do. Thanks, Suzanne πŸ™‚

  3. I’m not a writer, and I still ❀ my alcohol, so what does that say about me? Life is hard, regardless of your chosen profession, you just have to keep picking yourself up, and the occasional escapism never hurts either. Choose your poison wisely!

  4. Hi! As A writer who’s been rejected a few times I can tell you it can be gut-wrenching. But, the one thing all the successful authors I know have in common is perseverance. Don’t give up! πŸ˜€

    • At least I know I want to keep going forward. I was worried that I would get all complacent about the industry, but at least I am still wanting this as my career. The only problem now is prioritising. I always knew there would be rejections; I’m kind of glad I have gone through the experience because I know it will send me in the direction and test my mettle πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Michael. I’m sure they could tell that I wasn’t ready, but I’ve done some more research and I think I can refine my query. I’m not even sure they would have gotten to my synopsis based on what I’ve read about their process :S

Leave a Reply

