Unclogging the blog: when less is more.

This is my favourite quote at the moment. It resonates with me for two reasons. One, I’ve been having trouble writing my blog, and two, I have been working on my 140 character pitch.

Last week, I tried for two hours to write on two different topics and ended going on so many tangents, ‘writing young adult at thirty-nine’ almost became, ‘writing young adult at forty.’

When I started this blog, it took me a week to decide that I was going to stick to my conversational, article writing style. Give people a message, take them on a journey from the beginning and wrap it all in a neat bow at the end so people could say, “Ah, so that’s where she was going with that.” What I’ve found, though, is that it’s becoming increasingly difficult to keep this up. And on top of that, was I making this too complicated for myself?

I was a lot more active in the beginning with regards to scoping blogs and seeing what works, how people get comments and followers.

And what I found is this: Sometimes, people just say,” Hey, do you like stuff?

And people will say, “Omg I love stuff. Did you see stuff last week?”

Another, “Without stuff, I couldn’t breathe.”

And I’m thinking, “I don’t love stuff………………..I freakin’ love stuff!”

And there’s a bunch of people where you comment on their blog and they comment on yours, and at the end of the day, isn’t it nice when someone just comments on your blog?

So, do you like stuff? 😛

 

28 thoughts on “Unclogging the blog: when less is more.

  1. I like stuff 🙂
    And it’s very nice when you comment on someone’s blog and it’s nice to comment back.

    Also in reply to your comment about High Fantasy (it wouldn’t let me reply on your comment for some reason) If you have an idea and you want to start researching, go for it. There is nothing wrong with having a side project, especially if it’s really distracting you. I juggle multiple projects all the time. So go for it, start it, even if you only work on it once a week or when you feel like it.

    • Maybe your blog is encrypted with a high fantasy noob detector? lol. I’ve always felt I would be out of my depth in high fantasy, but I don’t mind a challenge. And at the very least, I can just start reading more high fantasy and noting down the 1000 words I’ve never heard of, and that could never be a bad thing 😛

      • Lol!

        There are some amazing YA high fantasy out there. Have you read Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta, Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes and Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor?

    • I’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and also Throne of Glass, but I haven’t read the others. They are going on my list! I’m going to try for 2 fantasies a month. Have you read Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo?

      • You have to read Finnikin of the Rock ASAP it is my favourite!!

        And yes, I just recently read Shadow and Bone. I enjoyed it. It was a little strange for me as it was the first time I read a fantasy in first person. I have the other two books and look forward to reading them.

  2. It’s true that this is how a lot of blogs go. I like to read short and interesting blogs no matter what they exactly say. I don’t have the time or patience to deal with longer blogs. I think, write from the heart.

    • If it’s a new blog, and I’m out of time, I will balk at reading a blog over 1000 words. And I think that also, there are blogs that we learn our craft from – which I will also pay close attention to – and those where we just want to communicate and have fun 🙂

  3. I can so relate to this quote! That’s why I have such a hard time on Twitter! lol I’ve given up trying to figure out blogging. I just babble about what I feel like and it somehow turns out in the end. It is great when people comment on my blog! I was convinced that for 8 months I was just talking to myself. And Yes, I love stuff!

    • Have you tried your 140 char pitch? Yikes. Thank goodness I changed my blurb: it made it easier, but I am still trying! I’d love to know how you get new followers and such. Do you actively seek out new blogs and comment or is it just your awesomeness that has them rolling in? 🙂

      • Haha what, write a story? Yeah, I should be doing that too…Funny how procrastination works. Maybe, if I mill around WordPress long enough, I’ll have to procrastinate, which will end up producing the next chapter of my book. 😉

        But really, I think it’s cool that you have so many followers; it means people must be liking what you write, even if you don’t hear from them. I’ve got a lot of silent readers too, on the site where I post my story, so I know what it’s like to wonder what’s going through people’s heads. Guess that means I should be more vocal of a reader myself, right? Maybe this is a start.

    • I’d be happy to be writing anything at the moment, but specifically, I should try a short story. I’d love to be able to enter competitions, have something published and be able to add it to my bio 🙂 The followers are deceiving…Not them per se, but the numbers hehe. It adds my twitter followers onto my ‘true’ followers. But at the end of the day, as long as we’re meeting people who we can chat to about writing, the numbers aren’t as important as the contact.

      • Yeah…Writing is pretty lone-wolf. Sometimes it helps to know people care about the product of however many hours we put into it. And, of course, it’s always good to spread your name around.

        Out of all the times I’ve tried writing a short story, only one stayed short, and thats because I looked at it like writing a tragic poem (and I only had part of a class period to do it). Every other time I’ve written a story, it’s threatened to turn into a novel. The strategy with short stories is different, so I doubt I’d fare well entering a contest. But who knows? Maybe someday. If you can pack everything into a short story, then more power to ya. I’m just too long-winded and complicated. 😉

Leave a Reply

