My New Years Revelation: I’m all or nothing, and I’m okay with that.

I hope you had a wonderful break 🙂 There will be those of you that let all your hairs hang out, responding with, ‘What book?’ when asked what there is to cook, and there will be those scoffing at my first sentence saying, ‘Pfft. What break?’ Either way, we are who we are, and if we aren’t happy with the decisions that we make, then self-punishment will manifest in an excruciatingly painful way. Bless it 🙂 There is no escape. You know it; I know it.

Even if I do relax, my break is never lacking in the stress department. In that little shop of horrors, I’m buying up tension like it will cure other drivers of the disorder that causes them to lose sight of their indicator. You can stress and relax? Yes, it’s a gift.

But this was not, for a change, book related. For the past three weeks, I have only spent time with my family or invested time in ridding the world of demons. Hey, I did say that I was pretty stressed; that’s a pretty important job.

Other than playing Diablo 3, which can loosely be considered inspiration for my series,  available hours have been spent reconnecting with my daughter and disconnecting with my son. Don’t judge me just yet; he is also ridding the world of.. something. Creativity maybe?

But my son and I do have a special connection, and it takes few words to cement our relationship. Five in fact: What level is your hunter?

My daughter, in comparison, requires validation of a very particular, specific nature. Very particular. Very specific. Detailed even… So, we talk about monster high dolls and ever after high dolls, and then I turn to my daughter and ask her what she wants to talk about. 😛 Disclaimer: I have nothing against boys playing with dolls, I just couldn’t help myself. 

So, instead of spreading myself over the course of the day, getting little bits of everything done and grumbling in the process, I’ve been ridding the world of demons while simultaneously wooing my own little devil. I’m a confused, multitasker with split loyalties. 🙂

But if that means I get nothing done writing wise,  at least I’m ‘all’ to them.

And I’m okay with that.

 

 

10 thoughts on “My New Years Revelation: I’m all or nothing, and I’m okay with that.

  1. You only have that age child once and I think it’s great you’re spending time with family. I need to get back in the writing groove as I did take a break over the holidays and everybody knows when you do that, it’s hard to discipline yourself and start writing again. Here’s to today-if I do something at all, I’ll be okay with that.

    • It is extremely hard to get back into it. But I found that even getting back into my blogging made me more motivated. I’m just itching to get past these agent queries so I can get into the meaty stuff again 🙂

    • Lol Molly. It seems we are kindred spirits 😛 We play different games, but I always try to be interested in what he’s up to. I scared him yesterday by saying that in ten years time when he has his own pc, we can raid together..when I’m 50…That was a good belly laugh 🙂

  2. I think you’ve nailed it! When I was on break a few weeks ago, I saw all these author tweets and I felt guilty for being on break. Shouldn’t I be doing something? But then I remembered one important thing: I am relaxing and on holiday. The writing will be there when I return. I returned from break to find myself sick with a bad cold. I wanted to write and had all these plans. But my body needed rest so I rested. Now I am ready to jump in with both feet! Each writer is different and has different priorities. Way to go for you concentrating on what really matters… family. 🙂 The great thing about being a writer is that the writing will be there when you are ready to return to it. 🙂

    • I’ve just had to accept that I work best in short bursts, and that if I spread myself too thin, I end up tainting all the other aspects of my day. I’m a pretty tense person and can only deal with so much at once. Imagine being a cow every hour of the day :S Your body was probably telling you that you needed more rest. I know that I would love to be an author with deadlines, but you hear of them slogging away through illness ( when most people would have a day off sick) and I feel bad for them. It must effect their writing…

  3. Spending time with the kids is important, and the holidays really do go quick (even when some days they feel like they are going forever.) The kids will be back at school and you’ll be back writing in no time.

  4. I think I’m starting to feel the effects of my laziness, er I mean, attention to my children. I’ve almost forgotten that I am a writer, too happy with just being a mum :S

Leave a Reply

