How do you make the most of Twitter?

It’s 6 months on from when I started my blog (or it might be 6 months; I’m too scared to actually check), and I thought it about time that I tackled Twitter. Then apologise for my aggressive behaviour…

I don’t blog unless inspiration hits me to the point I can’t sleep.  It should be at least once a week, right? But I have a dog that’s like a cat, and cats that are like dogs, so as you can see, I like to do things differently. It might stem from the fact I was born on the cusp of Leo and Cancer. I’m the astrological bad girl, writing a book on the cusp of YA and NA,  uf and pnr,  humorous and dark. But I also have a habit of falling off track and losing people with my tangents.

I’m back on track. With any of my blog posts, I find a more collaborative approach works better than an informative one. I show you what I’ve learned and you show me yours, and inevitably, I find myself off on another tangent, down the wrong freakin’ road… So we could call it the flounder approach. But I prefer to believe it looks a little more like the worm dance. A little more structured, but certainly has its up and down moments. Although at the start of my process, it feels a little like this:

Back on track. This time for sure…

I started using Twitter at the same time as I set up my blog, and after a few months, I found I just couldn’t keep up. I’d be worried about missing the feed for ten minutes, where yesterday’s news was about 10000 tweets ago. And when you feel you can’t keep up, there are those that slog on and might check the feed twice a day instead of twice a minute, and those who check twice a minute and give up.

I’m going to be upfront. I have been lacking in the tweeting area. I am one of those that can’t keep up. But I am not going to lie down and give up. I’ve taken a snap, which is what my daughter calls a short nap. I argue it should be called a shnap, and a snap should be a super nap, but if start talking about super naps, I’d never get her to have one.

So how do you make the most of Twitter when there are so many tweets and so many retweets and repeated tweets and repeated retweets? Two words: coffee and eyeballs. Two words: lists and notifications. Technically three words, but I find ‘and’ does not help me with Twitter organisation.

I have lists for bloggers, publishers, agents, and authors. I can go in, check the feed for those groups, and jump out. Is that wrong? Am being unfaithful to the 1000 people I am following? Who on earth could check all those tweets and eat?

And just a quick sidetip. You can unfollow those who don’t follow you back, or those who follow you to get your follow only to unfollow you. Confused? The program I use is called justunfollow. I lot less confusing than my explanation.

But who makes those lists and what is twitter etiquette? I might be old fashioned, but if someone follows me, I follow them. If they aren’t tweeting about my hot spots, then I probably wouldn’t put them on a list I can check all the time. But if they are tweeting about my hot spots, firstly, that sounds disturbing, but secondly, I would retweet them, put them on a list and add notifications for them. Hopefully they retweet me now and again.

There are a number of ways people will use Twitter to promote themselves and increase their following, but today, I’m interested in how you keep on top of all those followers: How do you make the most of Twitter?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “How do you make the most of Twitter?

  1. Twitter is an animal that I can’t figure out. I’ve read on a couple of authors’ blogs that Twitter has helped out their ebook sales, but Twitter has not done wonders for mine. Maybe I don’t tweet enough, because those authors passed on the suggestion that you tweet 25 to 75 times a day to see a difference. Cripes that’s a lot of tweets! Of course, there are services you pay for to do that for you. But I haven’t done that, nor do I intend to. I’ve found that Twitter has been good in connecting with other writers, where we re-tweet about each other’s books. But I have yet to see a big difference in my sales or blog views since joining Twitter, and trying to do it a little on the side. I’ve decided to invest more time in WordPress — hey, at least my posts last longer here than my tweets.

    • There are many times where I go to tweet something and I think, ‘I should just blog about this.’ I also agree that Twitter is a great way to interact with other writers, starting with a small, loyal group. And where do I find most of those people? Blogs 🙂 It’s those that tweet 75 times a day that have made me step back a bit. But the thing is, I know their names because I see them so often :S

  2. Personally, I love Twitter. I was on there long before my blog. Karen Lamb just wrote an awesome blog post about how Twitter doesn’t directly affect you book sales- and it isn’t meant to. It is to build a platform where you can personally interact with readers and (hopefully) future readers. They will buy your book because they like you and your interests, not because you spam them with ‘buy my book’ posts. My twitter is full of observations on life, writing, and also how I connect with the PR of large companies. Did I have a problem with my Domino’s Pizza delivery- I tweet them and they solve the problem in real time. Same with shout outs to amazing companies like Alaska Airlines when I fly.

    Twitter is like a big conversation and that is what I like. I am connected to people and brands that are important to me. I have got to get some lists started now too that I’m following more and more diverse groups to get my feed under control.

    • I find it a great source of information about writing when you find those right people to follow. And I find it easier than following blogs to find about competitions, promotions, great reads. I also agree that your tweets should have a personalised feel – show people that you are a real, relatable person. I found, though, that there are less and less tweets with that personal feel and may be why I get disillusioned. I would definitely continue to follow people who amuse me with their daily activities more than an actual promotion.

  3. I have Twitter and Facebook accounts for my blog. I get a respectable amount of activity on these platforms. The attention is nice but very little of it translates into actual visits to my blog. I think social media is overrated. I do it anyway if for no other reason than to “build my brand” and keep my name out there.

    The only advice I can offer is not to go too heavy on the Tweeting. I’ve un-followed people only because they choked me with dozens of tweets a day. If one has has something to say, go ahead and say it. But do not make posts/tweets just for the sake of saying something.

    • There is that element of ticking the box; it’s expected that you should cover all social media. But I do wonder, while trying to get published, how much notice is taken of my efforts. I’ve seen published authors with little to no platform. I also agree that too much tweeting will encourage me to listen less than more 🙂 I have further heard that twitter and blogging as writers should be used more as a way of connecting with the writing community rather than promoting to readers.

  4. I am on the cusp of Cancer and Leo too-July 23rd. I didn’t know that makes us astrological bad girls 🙂

    Twitter is hard to for me to use. I tweet all my blog posts, but I don’t know if it does much good. I want to re-tweet stuff but I can never keep up with it to find anything I think is re-tweet worthy; too many messages are always coming in and I probably miss the good stuff when I’m not looking.

    • Well, now you are just the ultimate astrological bad girl because I’ve seen the 23rd July as the cusp more often than the 24th, which is my birthday. You do sort of feel as though those tweets are just disintegrating into the nether…I also tweet my blog posts – it happens automatically now – but I believe that you have to also have an audience who are listeners more than followers. I might have almost 700 followers, but who is actually listening? I’ve read that you should tweet a few hours after re: blog, and then the next day and then the next week. Also, starting with a small group of writers who work together to retweet and promote each other can also be helpful 🙂 I’ll put you on my list of notifications on twitter. We have to start somewhere, right? 🙂

  5. I just completely creased up with laughter there, in several spots. A snap/shnap, the follow/unfollow and then the hotspots. With Twitter, I don’t know – I lost control of that horse a while ago. I should make lists – I will make lists at some point. And blog posts, I stop by, have a quick read, forget to like or tweet, then it looks like I’m just an ignoramous. So much etiquette to consider – when you figure it out, I’d love to know, because I am LOST!

  6. Aw, you’ve made my day 😉 I’m glad someone understands my humour. Because of this, you are going on my instant twitter notification list haha 😛 Like with anything, you have to start small and start a support system from there. I fall behind a lot with blogs, but I have found that an easy way to keep up is to go back to blogs where people have commented in the past and check back in with them 🙂 And with twitter, notifications are my key savior.

  7. Hi Lorelle I’m only learning how to use Twitter myself..I have a couple of blogger friends who retweet and favorite tweets and tweet on a regular basis and they seem to vouch that its a great tool to promote your blog and sometimes I get to ‘piggyback ride’ on their enthusiasm for the same and feel guilty because I still am a little backward in this area…I’m greatful to my friends and am truly appreciative but Im not sure if people who follow you on twitter actually come and read your posts on your blog. Hopefully we learn along the way… 🙂

    • I think that a lot of support starts with the blog, and then from there, people start promoting your blog through twitter. And you’re right: if those people are respected and have a great network also, then you may also beneft 🙂

  8. I like books that are two things at once. It probably makes it harder to sell though. I’ve found that lists really help with twitter. I have so many random followers (because I try to follow back if they are a person and not a business) that without lists I could never keep up. I’m still shy about posting, but I favorite if I like it and I respond to other peoples tweets all the time now. I’ve decided twitter is just for fun, because no one really seems to visit my blog from there who didn’t already know about it. Feel free to say hi anytime. 🙂

    • I have a habit of following everyone back, but I have to stop following those who have nothing to do with the writing/reading community and are just trying to sell me something. I would agree that it would be very rare to get new followers for our blogs via twitter ( I’m not sure I have even followed new blogs this way :S ). I find it’s a great way to get concise information across though. Links etc on writing tips/competitions.

Leave a Reply

